E3 is changing things up this year with consumer passes. But I hope you already got yours because they just sold out. E3 vets will mingle with 15,000 passionate gamers on the floor of this year’s E3.

Have fun playing any of the most hyped games there. You’ll be hanging out in line for a while.

As for the rest of us? We’ll be watching the big conferences and following livestreams from the comfort of our homes. Let’s take a look at the big conferences kicking off E3 before the floor opens on June 13th.

Electronic Arts – Saturday (June 10th), 12pm PT/3pm ET

Sports. Sports. And Star Wars. EA’s conference will kick off their three-day EA Play event. I’ll be tuning in for the Star Wars: Battlefront 2 reveal. And hopefully a few sneak peeks into the other Star Wars games being cooked up by EA’s other developers. Toss in a little Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 3 and I’m good to go.

Microsoft – Sunday (June 11th), 2pm PT/5pm ET

This is Phil Spencer’s and the Xbox team’s chance to gain some ground on Sony and PlayStation. And the first major hardware reveal since the disastrous Xbox One reveal. Expect a full info blowout on all things Project Scorpio. Everything from price and release date to how the games will take advantage of the power. I’ll be keeping an eye out for release dates for Crackdown 3, Sea of Thieves, Below and more. The folks at Xbox have a chance to let new IPs shine. We’ll see if they do.

Bethesda – Sunday (June 11th), 7pm PT/10pm ET

Three years ago, Bethesda jumped in with their own conference. They are continuing again this year. It’s about time for another new single-player focused shooter to get announced. Wolfenstein, anyone? Sign me the hell up. It still feels a little too early for a new Elder Scrolls game, but who knows? Maybe Bethesda will give us a small tease. I’m crossing my fingers for some DOOM DLC. This is the one conference that has me wondering what Bethesda has to show that could fill up the time.

Sony – Monday (June 12th) 6pm PT/9pm ET

Games. Games. Games. Days Gone, Uncharted: Lost Legacy, Death Stranding, The Last of Us: Part II, and a whole bunch of others I can’t think of. Not to mention all the third-party marketing deals they have locked up. Sony’s answer to Microsoft is going to be a deluge of hyped games. I don’t really care who has the best conference. Just give me quality games to play, and I’m pumped.

Nintendo – Tuesday (June 13th) 9am PT/12pm ET

The Nintendo Spotlight will have a big dose of Super Mario Odyssey. Nintendo is riding high right now thanks to the early success of the Switch. Don’t expect a deep look into Nintendo’s future. Games coming in the next six months will be in the spotlight. I’ll be keeping an eye out for any third-party announcements based on the Switch’s early sales success.

Ubisoft – ???

They’ll be there. We just haven’t heard any concrete details yet. Assassin’s Creed took a year off last year, so you know Ubisoft is gearing up for a huge reveal. Plus, DLC announcements for Rainbow Six: Siege and Ghost Recon Wildlands are probable. Hell, I’m hoping for a GRAW and Future Soldier Xbox One backward compatibility announcements. Gotta get that Ghost Recon PvP fix somehow, right?

The first half of 2017 was jammed packed with great games. E3 2017 will give us solid looks at the games coming in the second half of 2017 and beyond. Can Microsoft recapture the Xbox 360 glory days? What surprises does Sony have in store? Will Assassin’s Creed climb its way back to the top? We are one month away from seeing how the big three are going to keep us playing.

I’ll update this post once we learn Ubisoft’s plans for E3.


Follow News Ledge


This post may contain affiliate links, which means we receive a commission if you make a purchase using one of the affiliated links.