Facebook is adding another app to its catalog. Before you grab your iPhone, this is Android only. Hello is designed to let you see who’s calling you, block those annoying extended warranty people and search for people and places.

Why calls? Well, Facebook already owns a nice slice of the mobile messaging market. And, we still make calls. To the tune of billions every day. What’s missing from that experience?

Information.

When you receive a call, Hello will display information about who is calling you, even if you do not have the number saved as a contact. Before you grab the tinfoil hat, the information available is only what has been shared between the two parties on Facebook.

Details on Hello first appeared when the app was codenamed ‘Phone.’ The name change is a step in the right direction.

Other features of the app include search options for people and businesses, with the option to call them. Facebook gives an example of how this works via their announcement:

So if a friend tells you about a new restaurant in your neighborhood, you can use Hello to find their hours, make a reservation and get directions, all without leaving the app.

Blocking Unwanted Calls

Not only can you block the annoying telemarketers individually, Hello allows you to block most commonly blocked numbers. Sure, it’s still a game of whack-a-mole with the guy offering a free cruise, but it’s a nice feature.

Blocked calls get dumped to your voicemail, and you can review them later. Just in case that offer of a free trip isn’t BS.

Hello on iOS

With the app taking over calling duties, it’s a stretch to see Apple approving Hello for the App Store. I could be wrong, but expecting this functionality on Apple’s notoriously closed ecosystem? Hello might have to tone down its feature set to get approval.

Related
Facebook Skirmishes Against Headlines That Obfuscate Journalistic Integrity

Android users can download the app today on the Google Play store.

Follow News Ledge

This post may contain affiliate links, which means we receive a commission if you make a purchase using one of the affiliated links.